fatherpatrick

a prayer on the apodosis (leave-taking) of Pentecost

In Orthodox Christianity: in general on June 21, 2008 at 6:36 am

O Heavenly King… I am earthly, clay-like, subject to gravity and heavy with sins. I am guilty of treason before Thee, my King, by alienating Thee by my continual hypocrisy and vanity.

O Comforter… I long for Thy comforting, encouraging, exhorting Presence, but my longing is out-balanced with that other longing: for the comforts of sensuality: pleasure-seeking, love of praise, passing delights, false gods of this world. What I think as comforting is but really only that which induces a grey fog of death. My mind in vertigo; my heart enshrouded with dullness…

Spirit of Truth… Thou art indeed the Spirit of Jesus, He Who is “the Way, and the Truth, and the Life.” Do I say with Pilate, “what is truth?” or, do I confess Thee as did San Dimas on the Cross at Thy right hand, “remember me, O Lord, when Thou comest into Thy kingdom”? Do I show love of truth by obedience to it, or only prideful and vain curiosity without responsibility to what I learn?

Who art everywhere present and fillest all things… but dost Thou fill me? Only the human creature has the power to exclude Thee! Be that power far from me! But my longing does not suffice; there must be struggle, since my will is fickle and my pride is overwheening.

O Treasury of good things and Giver of life… I know that in Thee every precious gem is stored and ready to be distributed. I know that in Thee the very Fountain of Life springs forth, assuaging the thirst of my xerophagic soul–xerophagic, since it only eats the dry dust of vain sensory pleasure and drinks in the vapors of sin! Why do I continually “eat the bread of fools”? I know that Thou art my life, not only that Thou givest life. For I desire THEE, my life! Veni, Creator Spiritus!

Come, and abide in us… Make Thy home in me, as St Ephraim the Syrian of old did entertain: “God Who dwellest in the heavens finds His most comfortable abode in the heart of man,” so may I provide Thee with a throne in my heart! And, not mine only, but that of “this people which Thou hast brought up with me.”  I am not alone, but tied with a holy people, upon whose faith, hope, and love do Thou look, rather than upon my uncleanness!

Cleanse us from every sin… Since the Apostle and Evangelist John taught us that Thou dost cleanse from all unrighteousness them that confess their sins, grant to me to be humble, courageous, honest, and both ruthless and strict with myself to approach holy Confession. May I put out the flames of corrupt passions through humility and fear of God! “When I did not confess my sins, my bones melted like wax within me… so I confessed my sins unto the Lord.”

And save our souls, O Good One!  And, if I be saved, then all is well; for Thou only art Good, as our Lord Jesus taught. To Thee, O Good One, do I repair with hope for salvation. Receive me, O Spirit of Jesus!

Amen.

  1. Amen!

  2. And again, Amen.

    Thanks Father!

Leave a Reply

