fatherpatrick

So, just what kind of writing is this, anyway?

In Uncategorized on May 15, 2008 at 4:41 am

Christ is risen!

With these first three words, I enter the world of blogging–whatever that is. Before I can constructively write anything, I must know for whom I am writing:

1. Is this going to be read only by me? In such a case, this is on-line diary keeping, and inherently private matter, and a way to track my thinking about various and sundry.

2. Is a select group of persons going to read this, a restriction gated by some sort of login? In that case, I need to know who those are, so that I may establish our common frame of reference and write accordingly.

3. Is it a general readership, made up of those who seek what I have to say, along with others who may find this blog by some kind of internet search? I hope so, because I would like to know that I could write on a multitude of themes, trusting that someone out there may find it of interest and respond.

So, right now, I am just here to… SHOUT HOWDY!  (thanks to my brother-in-law, Ralph Spangler, for that!)

  1. Christ is risen!

    This is a great start. Mark will email you with some tips. My personal opinion is that the blog is for all bloggers seeking your knowledge on any thing you’d like to share.

    So, I look forward to reading more!

    Barb

  2. Hi Fr Patrick. Welcome to blogdom. I’m looking forward to reading and reflecting on your thoughts in the future.

  3. YAY! I get to be the first (almost) real comment! Congrats on your new blog! I’m looking forward to reading your postings! And I’ll be happy to help you with any technical questions. You know where to find me.

  4. Howdy Father Patrick,
    Christ is Risen! Truly He is Risen!

    You are official now.
    Welcome to the world of blogging.

    See you soon.

  5. Truly, He is risen!

    Wow! You’re going to display your thoughts out front like this? Sounds like a great adventure, sort of like playing Russian roulette. If I were to do such a thing, all the chambers of the revolver but one would be full, not empty! You know how adept I am at putting my foot in my mouth, don’t you?! Well, ‘may it be blessed!’ I think that I’ll just lurk in the shadows and read (then why am I typing this?). Maybe because it’s late, which is when I tend to get silly and throw caution to the wind. 🙂 Prayers and best wishes for you, Christina, Reader Christopher John and his fiancée. Check out our web site in a few weeks for pics of our remodelling job. I think His Grace was well pleased. At least there was no talk of a transfer to Saskatchewan.

  6. Hello Fr. Patrick,
    I am new to the Blogworld also but was glad to hear (form our friend Peter Mead in Eugene) that you had started one. I was not able to attend your talks in Eugene as I am now living in Piedmont Calif. but Carla Moser was kind enough to give me a view of it through her comments to me. To add some real content to this Blog let me ask you to clarify what you meant by your comments concerning what I will call (for sake of communication) “The Corporate Body “. So that you will know where I am coming from let me state my position also. I see the “corporate body” as our society in general, not just the church, which is only part of the society, but also acknowledge the church corporate body as well. Anyway, I see the health of the corporate body determined (both church and societal) by the individual choices that its members make. Choice being the only human tool, affects both the individual and the society but not to the same degree. Choice affects the person making it to the greatest degree and than those closest to the second greatest degree and then out into the society and the world in varying degrees. And then, not all choices have the same impact, they have varying degrees also.
    My question to you then is this. How do you view personal choice and its affect on the corporate church body?
    A very old friend in Christ Jesus’ love Nicholas Baz

  7. Christ is risen!

    Good Morning, my brother, Fr. Patrick. You can be well assured that I will be reading your blog with interest and deep sympathy (empathy?). Perhaps you will become the final push for me to do the same thing. Robin (Khouria Esther) and I send our love to you and Christina. The blessings of the Lord and of Pascha be yours.

    Fr. Joseph

  8. Christ is Risen indeed!
    How exciting Fr. Patrick to have your thoughts and teachings on-line. May God grant you his blessing, direction and many fruitful blogging years!

    Love to you and Kh. Christina,
    ChrisAnn

  9. Christ is risen! Indeed He is risen!

    Blog away, Fr. Patrick! I will be reading each and every one. Thank you for taking the time to write.

    Love in Christ,
    Thekla

  10. Father Bless!
    I have a picture for you to put on your website that more represents you. Know what it is? 😉

  11. Hi Fr Patrick,
    Blogging is definitely very public! I am sure you will gather a wide audience.

    You might be interested in the blog “Glory to God for All Things,” written by Fr Stephen Freeman (http://fatherstephen.wordpress.com/) of the Orthodox Church in America.

    I look forward to reading your work.

  12. Dear Father Patrick,

    Shout Howdy! I am enjoying the book you gave me to read on Orthodoxy. Sorry it is taking me so long to read it but it just takes me forever to read a book. But I feel like my relationshaip with God is growing closer and closer through our visit with you in LA and through the church you have there. I am just waiting for the day when the Lord will open up the door so that I may become Orthodox. Until that day I love serving my Lord where I am at and I love the man that I am serving and the work that is being done here at camp.

    In my reading today from the book “The Faith We Hold” I read about pg 59 “Until He Comes”. There were quotes from some book that we don’t have in our Bibles. It made the breaking of the bread out to be Jesus body but more than that it made me think about the bread being spread out over the hills and how Jesus has been spread out over the world as the living bread of Heaven (the manna) to all the churches that are in the world and of how one day we will be gathered as the disiples gathered up the fragmients and took up tweleve baskets full that all became one in Him.

    It is so cool that you have a blog. But I am not a blogger. Linda is! (I type as he dictates, is there a spell check? Oh well)

    Love forever in Him – Us

  13. Fr. Patrick Bless!
    I am so excited that you are doing this blog. I miss listening to you teach very much and I can’t tell you how much I look forward to any words of wisdom you wish to impart. No pressure or anything:) We miss you and Khouria Christina…when will you come to Boise for a visit?

Leave a Reply

